Skip to content

Snowday!

January 27, 2011

It has been a fun week for me so far.  I just got back in from playing in the snow for the 2nd day in a row.  While the snow seems to make everyone else mad and irritable, I have no problem with it.  I guess it gives me an excuse to act like a kid again, which I do on a daily basis anyways.  My wife has 2 sisters that are 14 and 11, so I’m always rooting for them to get out of school so I can go out and play. 

Since moving to the north, I have noticed just how different things are when it snows.  It just dumped almost a foot of snow up here in one day, and schools will be back in session tomorrow.  That sort of snow would paralyze Johnson City, TN for at least a week!  It snows up here and everyone just goes about their business like nothing happened.  Nothing closes, no cars in ditches, no missing school for 1/2 inch of snow(mom!)…you get the point.

I finally got my Spring Training packet yesterday, and I’m reporting on March 4th.  My throwing program and workouts have been going great.  My arm feels better now than any other offseason(knock on wood).  Maybe I’ll break 80 mph in Spring Training this year!  It’s always around this time of year that the itch comes back to get on the field.  I think I finally locked down a place to live in Port Charlotte, so that huge nuisance is gone. 

It didn’t take me long to come up with my next list.  I will start off by warning you that some people might get offended by this.  You may find yourself wondering if you are one of these people, and if you are..well..I don’t know what to tell you.  We all love Facebook.  It’s addicting, we are nosey, and we have nothing better to do with our time.  I’m as guilty as the next person when it comes to spending too much time on Facebook.  What I’m not guilty of, however, are abusing the 5 cardinal sins of Facebook…

1)Changing your status 5 times a day- do you really think anyone cares what you’re doing every 2 hours? If you do this, get Twitter.

2)’Liking’ your own status- Of course you like it, you wrote it. I can’t believe people actually do this.

3)Taking close up pictures of yourself at different angles, begging for a compliment- We all know what you look like, stop posting a million pics of yourself so people will lie and tell you how pretty you are.

4)’Poking’- What does it even mean?  I recently got ‘poked’ by a guy I don’t even know.  I assume ‘poking’ was created as a flirtation device? Or just to say hey? I don’t get it.

5)Posting sad and/or pathetic quotes- Your boyfriend broke up with you or cheated on you.  We get it.  Stop looking for sympathy from people on the internet.  Does it really make you feel better when 10 people ‘Like’ your crappy love quote? I doubt it.

If you do some of these things, good for you.  I’m not here to judge anyone at all.  Maybe you think something I do is stupid, I don’t care.  I do a lot of stupid things.  If I have offended you, get a sense of humor.  If anyone has anything to add to the list, please feel free to do so because I’m always up for a good laugh. 

I hope everyone has a great weekend, and be safe in the snow! On that note, back outside to work on my snowman.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment